appreciation, blessings, care taking, child birth, children, commitments, family, family bonds, fatherhood, fathers, gratitude, life, love, marriage, medical, motherhood, nostalgia, pride, relationships, sex, son, sons, thoughts, wife

Happy Fathers Day

fa·ther (THər) pronunciation
n.

    1. A male person whose sperm unites with an egg, resulting in the conception of a child.
    2. A man who adopts a child.
    3. A man who raises a child.
  1. A male parent of an animal.
  2. A male ancestor.
  3. A man who creates, originates, or founds something: Chaucer is considered the father of English poetry.
  4. An early form; a prototype.
  5. Father Christianity.
    1. God.
    2. The first person of the Christian Trinity.
  6. An elderly or venerable man. Used as a title of respect.
  7. A member of the senate in ancient Rome.
  8. One of the leading men, as of a city: the town fathers.
  9. or Father A church father.
  10. (Abbr. Fr.)
    1. A priest or clergyman in the Roman Catholic or Anglican churches.
    2. Used as a title and form of address with or without the clergyman’s name.

v., -thered, -ther·ing, -thers. v.tr.

  1. To procreate (offspring) as the male parent.
  2. To act or serve as a father to (a child).
  3. To create, found, or originate.
  4. To acknowledge responsibility for.
    1. To attribute the paternity, creation, or origin of.
    2. To assign falsely or unjustly; foist.

v.intr. To act or serve as a father.

****************

What defines a good father?  We all can look up the definition.  It’s there above my post for your reading pleasure.  However when I think of my life, my defining moment when I knew my wonderful husband would transition into a loving father was the moment my son was born.

As the doctor handed me my child and laid him on my chest, I looked to my husband.  As a brand new parent you never know what your going to feel or experience when it dawns on you that this little bundle, just delivered and handed over, is your responsibility.  I looked to see if he would look into my eyes with adoration or smile lovingly at me and his new son.

He was however sobbing while his mom held him.  He was a new father and it hit him how special that was.  Most reading this probably think he was crying out of anxiety or exhaustion, but it was out of pure amazement over the prospect of guiding this child through the world.  It was his responsibility, and although overwhelming it was one he took very seriously.  My husband has such a sensitive heart and spirit….it was no surprise to me that it would hit him that hard.  At that exact moment, I knew what a very special father he would become.

HAPPY FATHER’S DAY SWEETHEART….I LOVE YOU!

Leave a comment