Uncategorized

Reminiscent

Do you ever dream about a loved one, who has passed, and the emotions are so strong it’s like they’re really there?  When they come to you in your dreams, it’s hard to let go to wake up as you know they’ll no longer be with you.  I’ve had dreams like this with my grandparents and also my pet, Hershey.  If you’ve ever read any of my blogs in the past – you may have read about Hershey.

Well today was one of those days for me.  I dreamt that my faithful furry sidekick was trotting by my side into a trailer, where I needed to pick up some supplies.  He wasn’t on a leash, as he would have been if this was us in real life.  We didn’t drive to the trailer, as I’d have to in real life because it was at a destination far away from my home.  He and I just appeared there, to walk in together.  And he was next to me, without fail.

The person inside was flirtatious and made unwanted advances, as I tried to leave.  My dog attacked him for laying a hand on me, and saved the day.  I was eternally grateful.  I went to hug his neck, and the dream dissipated into thin air.  I woke up to an empty room heart broken that I couldn’t wrap my arms around his furry neck and nuzzle into his neck.

I’m tearing up right now as I type this, as his presence is still so strong in my mind … and my heart.  After years of his passing, I still feel at a loss without his warm expressive puppy dog eyes that would somehow tell me everything I needed to know.  He and I had our own communication.  And as I think about this dream, I guess we still do.

3 thoughts on “Reminiscent”

Leave a Reply

