Uncategorized

Are They Just Words?

Recently I posted on FaceBook here, with these words:
Is having a meager Christmas a bad thing? So what if someone doesn’t have excess cash to spend on presents under the tree. Didn’t our Lord and Savior end up in a manger – because his family couldn’t find shelter? He worn born in very meager circumstances – yet offer us (to this day) the biggest gift of all – salvation.

This post is something that has been on my mind, as this year has been one of the tightest we’ve experienced. Now I know people think authors have a ton of book sales and royalties coming in. And some do … However most Indie Authors, like myself, still have to keep a day job. And to be honest – this year has been a rough one as we’ve been trying to play catch up after a few set backs.

In contemplating the ‘true reason’ for Christmas – I’ve been thinking … We always hear that ‘Jesus us the reason for the season’ and I agree wholeheartedly, but if the concept isn’t hidden in our heart … those are just words. And, to be honest some take those words for granted. Some use those words to their advantage. Some say them and go through the motions. While others may say them but don’t believe them at all.

My son and I were talking about how much we want to feel the true sentiment behind the words more than ever before. As my best friend suffers through chemo and fights an aggressive cancer, I know her 11 year old kid would give anything just to have her health for Christmas. They don’t care about gifts under the tree. They’re praying for a miracle. And she is so tired that she just wants hot chocolate and energy to make it through the season. Her faith is strong and as a true believer, I know she understands the sentiment behind the words.

So my 11 year old and I were discussing that it doesn’t matter what is (or isn’t) under the tree this year. We have our health, our friendships, family, and our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. Those are all such amazing blessings that some aren’t lucky to have at all.

So as you think of this holiday season and you celebrate with whomever gathers around your tree, please remember that a tiny baby was born, in meager circumstances, so that you may have the biggest gift of all. No matter who is with you to celebrate, or not – as I know we all have loved ones we miss … no matter what presents are under the tree (or lack of) … remember the real reason behind why we’re all celebrating.

For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace. Amen.

6 thoughts on “Are They Just Words?”

  1. Well said, Kimberly. My heart grieves for what Christmas has become to us. I am reminded of the song “Heart of Worship” and the lyrics: “I’m sorry, Lord, for the thing I’ve made it when it’s all about you, it’s all about you, Jesus.” I pray with you that we make Christmas what it truly is – all about Him.

    David

      1. Having read you over the years, I have a feeling your “small” Christmas was huge in the eyes of our Lord. God bless you, Kimberly.

  2. Sometimes when we have the least in life is when we find out we have the most. When we are in the valley of life we have nowhere to look but up. GOD will carry you through and there will be a brighter and better day. He’ll see you through! Greater is he that is in me!

Leave a Reply

