faith, family, family bonds, life, love, relationships, thoughts

Discipline – yuck!

I hate being the bad guy.  I don’t spank if I can help it.  My child is a dream for the most part and I normally never have to go either place.

Lately though we’ve been having issues with my son.  Nothing major but little issues just the same.  It’s got to be hard to be in his brain.  He’s 5 years old and is like a little man.  He can do multiplication, addition, and had logical reasoning better than some adults. He’s extremely mature, but I have to keep in mind that emotionally he’s still FIVE.

Lately he’s not been listening, and he’s adding in back talking.  I know this is part of his age.  Learning to test his boundaries and grow his wings, but still needing a parent.  I know I have to stick to the rules and not back down or he’ll run over us.  BUT I hate this discipline part.

I hate having to put him in a time out and hear him telling me ‘I’m mean’ and ‘he’s going to find different parents’.

Ten minutes later everything is fine and he’s back to his normal loving self…but dealing with hearing those things hurts.  I don’t let it show that it hurts though b/c I have to stay calm and level.  I don’t feel like I did a very good job of parenting today.

7 thoughts on “Discipline – yuck!”

  1. I have actually told my kids that as much as I love them, at this particular moment I DO NOT like what they are doing. I had to put them in time out and walk away. I think we all go through this guilt and hurt. Doesn’t make it easier, but we can at least commiserate.

  2. Hold your ground…you’re doing great.

    By the fact that it bothers you to have to disipline your son, shows you care and love him. Kids have to learn right from wrong at an early age and learn to live within the boundaries set for them. It’s all part of being a good parent.

  3. Parenting is the toughest job I’ve ever had. I listened to my children’s complaints all the way through High School. Hang in there. One day they will say thank you mom.

  4. Thanks you guys! I know I’m blessed to have a great kid. I don’t have to discipline very often. I know when he gets older I’m in for more of it though. YUCK!
    I appreciate your kind words and input. I needed to hear it.

  5. I keep reminding myself that children are small, immature people. They need to be trained to respond to the world in appropriate ways.

    Sounds like you’re doing a great job in spite of the guilt!

Leave a Reply

