allergies, appreciation, blessings, breakfast, danger, death, family, family bonds, favorites, food, gratitude, health, husband, marriage, medical, miracles, motivation, relationships, safety, self improvement, smiles, surviving, thoughts

Monday’s Joy

Today has been so good. I found a jack pot at my local grocer’s of wheat free items, that I can cook my husband.

People take eating for granted. They don’t understand what a luxury it is just to have a slice of pizza and some beverages to accompany that!

My poor husband has been allergic – deathly allergic – to wheat for 8 years. He’ll swell up and die when ingesting just a little wheat. Do you all realize how many items have wheat in them?

Tomato soup and many other canned soups
Licorice
vitamins and prescription pills (it’s used a filler/packer)
of course the obvious – pastas and breads

I could go on and on, but won’t bore you with it. Just know that almost every item at the grocery store will list ‘wheat flour’. IHOP even uses wheat flour to enhance the flavor of their omeletes. It’s a sad day when you can’t order an omelete at IHOP, without fearing for ones life.

Well tonight I made my hubby SPAGHETTI! For the first time in 8 years, we’ve had spaghetti as a family. GLUTANO is my new favorite friend! They have spaghetti noodles made with maize flour and starch.

How nice was it to feel like a real wife, and cook for my family? — vs. cooking for my son and I and hoping to find something my husband can eat.

Yeah Glutano…thank you!

3 thoughts on “Monday’s Joy”

  1. I know a couple of people with wheat allergies and I know how hard they have to work at eating so they don’t get sick. I feel for your poor hubby and am happy for you that you found something you can all eat and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

