allergies, blessings, children, encouragement, faith, faithful fridays, family, family bonds, health, help, life, love, marriage, motherhood, motivation, society, son, sons, sports, surviving, talent, thoughts

IT’s Fridayyyyyy

Although this week has been somewhat of a hard one there are still some blessings I’ve found, when looking for them.

My son won his soccer game and was so aggressive, that I almost didn’t know it was my little one out there. It was his first soccer game since last season, and it’s obvious how strong and attentive he’s become. He’s grown into a little soccer stud overnight. In fact even though they don’t introduce the concept of blocking goals yet at his age, he kept running ahead of the players to his own goal. He blocked many of their efforts to score. I was so happy for him and he was beaming with pride.

One of the boys on his soccer team was literally a cry baby wanting to ‘quit’ every single time he couldn’t get the ball or play. He ran to the sidelines crying, “Moooooommmmmm—mm—yyyyy! I want to quit! There not letting me play!”

I was thankful that this wasn’t my child. I heard his mom say, “Too bad. Get in there and get after it. There not supposed to let you have it … you have to go get it. Those are the rules of the game.” I agree with what she said, but felt bad that this child was so emotionally unprepared for a simple game where every other child was enjoying the sport of the game.

I felt blessed that my child has learned that once you fall down or aren’t passed to, you pick yourself up … keep going and get after the ball. This is a life skill that will take him far. He’s not a quitter, just like his parents.

I’m blessed that my in laws are coming over tonight to celebrate my husband’s birthday. And although I’ve had jury duty and have been extremely sick, with no time clean house … I’m blessed to have their company all the same. My mother is helping me clean my house, and I’m blessed that she’ll be over today giving me the help I need.

I’m blessed that even after a rough start to our morning, yesterday, my husband was still kind enough to bring me lunch over his lunch hour. I wouldn’t have the energy to get myself any as bad as I was feeling. I’m blessed that I have a husband, that even after we fight, can put his pride aside and take care of me.

I’m blessed that today my pounding headache is gone! Hallelujah.

5 thoughts on “IT’s Fridayyyyyy”

  1. Congrats to the soccer stud. All my peeps have been involved in soccer for a long time. My 19yo still plays club ball in college. It is a great sport and it sounds like he is going to do very well in the game. As always, a fabulous list!

Leave a Reply

