blessings, Christianity, faith, life, love, prayer, relationships, thoughts

Life Lesson through Jury Duty

I got out of jury duty…let me go without even calling my name. I sat for 8 1/2 hours on a hard bench and groaned and groaned….wondering why everyone was picked but me. God knew what he was doing though. That small handful that were left by 4 p.m. were released never to be seen again…yay!

Life is like that. Sometimes we wonder how or why God isn’t just hurrying up and getting us out of a situation, when it’s just horrid to ‘sit’ through it with no end in sight.

I had prayed going into the process, “Lord you know what you’re doing. IF I’m supposed to serve to either help someone be freed or convicted … use me. IF I’m not … please get me out of there.”

By noon I was only thinking, seriously???? When will this be over??? Come on!

The AC was out, and it was muggy. We were all sitting on hard wooden pews, shoulder to shoulder. We started out with 500+ people, and we got reaaaal cozy and friendly. —> We had to.

They had 10 cases they called for throughout the day. Each time a case came up, we all sat up in anticipation.

Will I be called? Will I get out of this crappy room?

The ones that were called, celebrated. The ones, like me, who weren’t, sagged a little more.

I tried to find small blessings in staying there.

*Well, at least there’s more room on the bench.

*At least they have a pad to somewhat prevent my butt from going numb.

*At least I haven’t been called for a case, been released…to only come back to this room to be recycled for another case (That would be too disheartening).

*At least that crazy lady got called, so I don’t have to sit next to her anymore.

And on that last blessing, God would reprimand me by whispering, she’s my child too. I love her.

Then I’d start feeling somewhat guilty. Is it my turn to leave yet Lord? —- NO

By 3 p.m. I remembered that God’s plan is always better. I remembered my prayer to place me where He wants me, and found some solace.

By 4:15 p.m. I was completely humbled when hearing, For those who have not been called today your jury summons is now up. Thank you for your service. Go home and don’t come back unless called again some other time in the future.

A yelp or two went up in celebration from the 70 or so that were left.

One lady even commented, “We thought we were the unlucky ones having to sit through this all day. We were the lucky ones.” … I’d say the blessed ones indeed.

Yes, God uses some small things some days to humble us … or some things on larger scales like jury duty. Most would think it was a waste of their time to have to go through that process for ‘nothing’ … I think it was a perfectly good use of time for God to teach me a huge lesson.

9 thoughts on “Life Lesson through Jury Duty”

  1. True. You were lucky. But at that moment you may not have found it so lucky to just sit there.
    How can you be so confident about having someone else’ life in your hands? How can you be sure you made the right decision? How can you face yourself if you joined in the mass decision knowing in your heart that it is not right? How can you convince others if you feel opposite to what everyone else in the jury feels if in case you were chosen to handle a case?
    It is a BIG responsibility,right? …

    http://4mgiselle.wordpress.com

  2. Blessed, yes. Freed, yes. All by God’s divine provision for you. Yet it is truly frightening to serve on a jury knowing your vote can send a man or woman to prison for many years. Are they REALLY guilty? Do they REALLY deserve this confinement? What if the jury is wrong? What if we all listen to the vocal jurists and not our own conscience? Can we really trust our own consciences? Jury duty is definitely a right we, as Americans, treasure. It’s also one we exercise with very solemn consideration.

  3. Isn’t that the most scary thought. My choice or decision could make such a huge impact on someone else’s destiny … for life? Whew. Too much to think about. Thankfully I don’t have to worry about it any longer.

  4. Your experience was so different from mine. We sat in a fairly comfy conference room at tables with chairs, 2 people to a table. I read my books and enjoyed the quiet. Like you though, I was glad when they mentioned that those of us still remaining could leave.

    And you always amaze me with the way you recognize God’s presence in the everyday things.

  5. I’ve never been called for jury duty so I’ll be happy for you that you didn’t get called to be part of jury. It is a shame you had to sit there all day though.

  6. I’ve been called into duty a few times, let go must often, but did have to serve for two weeks on a federal case. Exciting, yet still one of the most boring experiences of my life.

Leave a Reply

