economics, faith, food, help, husband, manners, marriage, motivation, photography, pictures, politics, prayer, pride, questions, relationships, sales, secrets, self improvement, society, supervisors, surviving, talent, thoughts, work

A job is not a definition…

I think my husband has been struggling with the idea that I’ve chosen to wait tables until my own business picks up. I still have to support our family, as we have bigger than a one income budget. And my photography business WILL NOT jump start overnight.

Although I have a jillion people that see me daily, saying…”Oh I need to get with you. We need to do picutres.”
“Okay When?” is my response.

I’m getting a lot of Oct-December shoots lined up. So I know I’ll have some busy work ahead, but for now I need something that will give me the most bang for my buck and still be fun/interesting. I’ve been praying that God lead me on a path, that will lead to what I should be doing. All roads have led away from office ‘professional’ jobs. AND I couldn’t be happier!! I’m so tired of office schmoozers and corporate America. I know office politics happen in every industry…but in sales it just seems a whole lot worse.

My husband’s first reaction when I mentioned I wanted to wait tables was a grimace. He finally asked, “What will happen when one of your sales managers comes in and you have to wait on them? How will that make you feel?”

Well my first gut reaction—my JOB DOES NOT DEFINE ME!!!

My second:

IF they want to be stuck in a dead end boxed in j-o-b, and blind to that, more power to them.

My third:

They’ll do one of two things..either look down their nose at me…or feel sorry for me. Either way I’m gonna kill em with kindess and super good service, which will leave them having to leave a great tip.

Now my only problem is that I may not pass the food test tomorrow. It’s a test with over 150 blanks to fill in that asks for food abbreviations, menu items, and all ingredients on each item. Ummm…it’s a serious test people.

I passed the state insurance exam, where only 1 in 4 people pass. That test was a cake walk compared to this one. What the heck is wrong with that food test that they have to make it rocket science for people to pass?

So please pray that if I’m supposed to work there, I pass this test tomorrow. Thank you all. B/C if I don’t pass, I have no back up plan except substitute teaching that pays $7.50 and hour, and that won’t pay the bills.

11 thoughts on “A job is not a definition…”

  1. Hey I just ran across your blog, and I’m mom-waitress too! I’ve struggled with it for a while and I still do, but at the end of the day it really pays the bills AND I work a lot less than most of the office-worker bees buzzing around downtown. I get to spend all day with my baby and avoid putting her in daycare. It’s not my dream job, but the reality is it actually works really well for us. As soon as your husband sees the wad of cash you come home with he’ll come around. As for serving people you know, I find it’s best to hold my head high. If they see that I’m not ashamed then they don’t treat me any differently. Although I’d be lying if I said it wasn’t embarrassing sometimes! Whatever! Best of luck on the test!

  2. WOW – $7.50 an hour for substitute teaching… that is really sad. People make $10-$20 an hour babysitting. I am sorry.

    I thought about waitressing and had the same thoughts as your husband and I also thought about UPS – working 11 -3 or 7 a.m., but then my wish came true and I did get a job. $7,500 less than I wanted – but 37-1/2 hours a week and 4 weeks off a year and a 10 minute drive from my house.

    I’ve been looking since last December. Keep looking!! Look at churches, schools and non-profits. They pay fairly well and the hours are not there.

    As far as the waitressing, go for it if you want — do you have anything to lose? Besides, if anyone says “We have to get together for photos” – i like how you answered, but maybe work in your waitressing to fill in the spots and maybe that will guilt them into booking with you!

  3. Thanks to all of you leaving the comments you did. I fully agree. I’m not ashamed. I’m looking to work around my son’s school schedule and build my own business at the same time. It’s one of the only ways I see to do it.

    Yes wfbdoglover…7.50 is sad. It’s a private school too, so you’d think with those high tuitions they charge…they’d afford to pay a lot more. I know in Kansas some of the public schools pay $100 a day. (shaking my head)

    Ric…going to check out your poem.

    frithian….I am so glad to find another working mom in my shoes. Thank you so much for stopping by & I hope you come back soon. Yes, those wads of cash will come in handy for our bills.

  4. I think you’ve got a great attitude about it! I’ve never heard about the food test before but then I didn’t get into waitressing, only worked at pizza places. I’m sure you’ll do great!

  5. Thanks for your prayers. I passed by the skin of my teeth. A 90% was needed to pass, and I got a 92%. I have a liquor test on Tuesday, so I pray to pass that next…which if I do than it’s all good.

  6. I really do admire your attitude towards it all. So what if you have to serve the “big wigs” from corporate? They’re just people like you and I, right? So many times I get people prying as to why I do a certain job or why my hubby and I do certain things like save or only drive one car or we haven’t had kids yet. At first, I would get so frustrated from the questions and then I’d start questioning myself. That is, until my therapist taught me my favoirte line “Because that’s what I(we) chose and that’s what works for me(us).” I LOVE usnig that line now – I feel so proud. Good luck with the liquor test – I’m praying for you!

Leave a Reply

