amen, blessings, blogging, book, business, Christianity, church, commitments, contracts, dreams, encouragement, faith, family bonds, goals, gratitude, home, life, literary, miracles, motherhood, motivation, nostalgia, Oklahoma, Oklahoman Newspaper, positive reinforcement, prayer, publishing, random, relationships, Religion, smiles, surviving, talent, thoughts, women, work, writing

Some Big News!

It’s been a dream of mine since I was in 4th grade to be a published author. It’s been this ‘thing’ I always knew I’d do, and now it’s come true. I’m a very blessed girl and God is so good.

Today I checked my email and read an email from my new publisher, Vanilla Heart Press, that started out with:

“We’ve thoroughly enjoyed reading Finding Kylie, especially the back stories in the novel, and the depth of the characters, along with the intertwined subplots. Therefore, we’ll be sending you a contract offer on this manuscript.”

My mother was at my house and I read the entire length to her as her eyes started tearing up. She couldn’t have been prouder of her little girl. All I know is that I’m so happy and blessed, and I’m still shaking my head. Is this really happening to me?

A lot of you have asked about my book and what it’s about. So let me just give you a little blurp:

It’s a dual story line following mother and daughter through past and present day times to uncover hidden secrets with a little love story thrown in. It’s gooooood stuff.

Here are some other things that happened today that were exciting:

*Already I’ve had someone in the Public Relations business, who knows my husband, offer to handle all my PR for free.

*The proprietor at Toby Kieth’s Restaurant has agreed to have a launch party for me when it comes out, in downtown OKC.

*One of the top ranked radio morning shows have agreed to interview me when we need to promote the book.

*I used to work at the state paper, so today my old boss gave me the book editor’s name. I figure in a month or so, I’ll make contact and see if I can get in front of them.

I wanted to send a big thank you to all of you who have been praying for me. I’ve felt God’s hands surrounding me today as if he’s just holding me up and whispering His blessings in my ears/heart. What a great God we serve and how undeserving are we all of his faithfulness? I hope I’m on track in His eyes and am still shaking my head at how much He loves me.

14 thoughts on “Some Big News!”

  1. Thanks guys….I will let you know when it’s out. They say Fall of 2008 so I’ll keep you posted. 🙂 Yah….couldn’t go to be last night till midnight…still amped up on adrenaline!

  2. That is so amazing!!! Excellent! Sounds like a great read. Will your publisher allow you to post an excerpt or link to one in your sidebar? Great publicity. I guess that’s the PR guy’s job.

  3. I don’t think so as they’d probably want everyone to buy the book to get a taste of it, but I know they’ll set up a website for it when it’s ready to release.

  4. Congratulations! There’s no feeling that compares with the very first acceptance from a publisher. Enjoy it, and I hope this will be the first of many such events for you!

    Good for you, lining up all the PR ahead of time. You’re off to a perfect start.

Leave a Reply

