blessings, family, family bonds, life, love, relationships, thoughts

What a difference a year makes…

When my son turned 5 in March, overnight I saw him change into a more mature child. He became this big boy who no longer showed signs of being a baby anymore. He lost the rest of his baby cheeks, although they’ll always be kissable even without that extra roundness to them. He became a little wiser. He just grew up and into being 5 in an instant.

I saw changes in the way he interacted with his peers. The boys and girls are definitely on different teams now. Instead of having a play date with his girlfriend, where they play nice, he’s knocking them down on the playground. His dad’s already had that talk about being gentler with girls.

He puts things together a lot faster too. He’s always been an extremely bright and intuitive kid, but now he’s just a little more excellerated. It’s even apparent in sports. What a difference a year makes…

Last year this time, he was more interested in pulling grass on the soccer field or chasing butterflies, and now he’s aggressively chasing the ball and scoring goals. I’m amazed at how my little boy has turned into an aggressive team sport player. He’s in it to win it man.

He lost his first game today and he’s ticked off. All his team mates were too. In fact one of his best buddies stuck his chin out and started, I only can assume, talking smack to the other team mates. It was right after they scored a goal. Although it was funny, we’ve got to be careful to teach our kids good sportsmanship.

Last year, he wouldn’t have even have known if his team lost. This year his nickname is ‘team accountant’ because he runs to the side lines to announce the score every time a goal is made. He’s such a funny kid and I love who he is growing into being.

3 thoughts on “What a difference a year makes…”

  1. I was thinking as I read your post, how much have I grown this past year? He is maturing into a bigger boy. I hope I have made improvements in my walk with Jesus. I am doing the opposite of your boy though – I am getting extra roundness in my cheeks! :o( !!

  2. Awww Papa, I’d love to squeeze those cheeks tho! 😉

    “Team Accountant” That is hilarious!

    These are the most important years for them right now. they are so impressionable. I think how they learn to respond to adversity now will pave the way for their attitude and receptiveness the rest of their lives.

    Being a parent is such a hard and AMAZING job!

  3. I know how you feel. My son will be 19 this year, and I think back on the years when I could kiss those baby cheeks.

    I enjoyed his growth spurt during his teen years, the voice change and the hair growing on his legs!

    While my son shaves and is in the university, I enjoy every minute with him.

    Be blessed
    Yvette

Leave a Reply

