children, entertainment, family, family bonds, humor, laughter, life, love, motherhood, planet, random, relationships, secrets, sex, sisterhood, smiles, society, son, sons, sports, thoughts, women

Learned Behavior

My family is a hoot. Seriously we laugh most all the time. My son has the same sense of humor and his aptitude for picking things up is amazing. He’s five and nothing gets past the little dude.

Tonight we all ate dinner after his T-ball game. (He played really well by the way. He hit on his first try and scored 2 runs. He got one runner out at first as well…not bad for his first game ever.)

As we were eating, I asked my son to use his ‘inside’ voice. He’s tend to be really loud, like my husband, who’s voice is deep and loud at all times. Some people just project whether they mean to or not.

This started a whole conversation that spun off toward my mom, who has the opposite problem. She doesn’t project and sometimes hard to hear, even when yelling upstairs for my dad. Of course we all ganged up on her, and in turn she made reference to my dad again by saying, “No, he just doesn’t ever hear me. No matter what.”

My sister’s response, “Um mom I think that’s learned behavior.” (selective hearing)

My son was taking it all in and laughing at my mom, just like we were. The conversation then turned to his soccer game. I reminded him to tell about his goal he scored on Saturday morning. He was telling my sister’s boyfriend, Bob, all about it. Then my sister switched gears to ask if he picked up any balls to get anyone out tonight (T-ball).

My son: “No, you’re not allowed to pick up the ball.” (in reference to soccer)
My sister: “What?”
Me: “Honey, she’s asking about T-ball.”
(confused look on my son’s face)
My sister’s boyfriend: “Dude. You might as well give up, you’ll never understand them. They’re (women) gonna confuse you for the rest of your life.”
My son: LAUGHING – “That’s learned behavior.”

We all cracked up. Yup…that is learned behavior. He might as well learn now that men are from Venus and Women rule the planet.

I hope you all have a great night!!

8 thoughts on “Learned Behavior”

  1. That’s hilarious… kids are so smart now-a-days. You really can’t get anything passed them and you have to be really careful what you say around them. It can come back to bite you on the butt. 😉

  2. No wonder he keeps you in stitches. He’s obviously extremely perceptive and uses his sense of humor to his advantage. Gonna be a heartbreaker!

Leave a Reply

