abuse, america, anger, Christianity, commitments, conflict, disasterous, economics, faith, God, health, leadership, life, manners, medical, motivation, Oklahoma, prayer, racing, random, relationships, safety, society, spirituality, surviving, thoughts

Does anyone take accountability anymore???

Today I’m a little frustrated. A lot of you know that I was recently T-boned by someone who didn’t stop properly at a stop sign. You can read about it here. I guess my main question is summed up in the title of this blog, but I’m still amazed at the younger generation and it’s lack of heart.

Now please don’t get me wrong. I know that it a completely stereotypical statement in deeming the entire ‘younger generation’ apathetic. I know that we have some amazing young people that are doing great things in this world. So I should rephrase it as most of the younger generation, who takes the easy road in life.

After this kid hit me…I pulled over to the side of the road and he pulled behind me. I looked in my review and he was on his phone. I’d say he was calling the police, but he wasn’t picking his phone up.  He was already on it.  Plus one of his buddies showed up with in 2 minutes. My gut tells me he was on the phone when he hit me.

This 20 something kid didn’t get out to see if I was okay. He didn’t act like he’d had any part in the accident. He and his buddy were shooting the breeze talking about the weather. He didn’t give me eye contact. In fact if I wasn’t the one that was hit, I’d swear they were just loitering a street corner watching cars drive by. He could have cared less about any aspect of this scenario.

Maybe he didn’t care because he was driving a company truck. Maybe it’s because it only tore part of the bumper and his company truck wasn’t bashed in, like the side of my car. He told the officer that I ‘just came of out no where’!!!

Okay well when you’re stopped at a stop sign and 15 to 20 cars are driving down a main 4 lane road, you’d think someone would double check before just pushing the gas on and pulling out.  I was in my lane, driving like the rest of the other 15 cars were.  Did he not see them too?

When the officer ticketed him, he appeared dumbfounded. He couldn’t believe he got a ticket…because it surely (in his delusional world) wasn’t his fault!

Well now he’s refuting the ticket. That would be enough to irritate me just on principle alone…but if he gets out of his ticket than his insurance company won’t claim liability for the accident. That directly effects me because then my rates will go up and I won’t get reimbursed for out of pocket expenses like my pharmacy bill and my rental.

I was raised when you’ve done something in error, whether it’s and accident or not, you take responsibility and own up to your actions. I was raised that you do what you can to amend the situation. Mind you I am not a naive girl, but I’m still blown away that someone would deliberately lie and weasel out of things. It’s not that I don’t see it happen on a daily basis with people I meet on a small level…ie work environment or daily life. People tell white lies or manipulate the truth to fit their means. BUT today people, I’m sadly just shaking my head and this young kid and his lack of heart.

Please help me in praying for him and his conscience. Pray that God lays what’s right on his heart and mind. And please pray for me with this situation so that I don’t have any more than I can handle with my finances and how this wreck has effected that. Thank you so much. Thanks for letting me vent…I needed to.

15 thoughts on “Does anyone take accountability anymore???”

  1. ** “Victimism has gained so much influence that as far as society is concerned, there is practically no such thing as sin anymore. Anyone can escape responsibility for his or her wrongdoing simply by claiming the status of a victim. It has radically changed the way our society looks at human behavior.” **

    The above quote is from John MacArthur’s book “The Vanishing Conscience”….it sure seems to fit in this case.

    I’ll be praying for you 🙂

  2. I know exactly what you are talking about. Some of these kids have this unrealistic sense of entitlement… that they are free to do whatever they will without the worry of consequence. I hope this kid (because he certainly isn’t acting like an adult) is slapped with the harshest penalty possible. It might be worth the trouble of finding out how many other accidents ‘weren’t his fault.’ Good luck!

  3. So after reading and commenting on this subject on your other blog, I now see that he is probably fighting it for the benefit of his employer. If he admits fault, it’s not going to look good on his employee record.

  4. it’s really ridiculous how people drives nowadays. I see people doing stupid things and driving like “jack rabbits” everyday. I can totally understand your frustration. I have a whole section on my blog dedicated to defensive eco-driving (http://www.eastwoodzhao.com/category/defensive-eco-driving/) I’ve even gone as far as getting a bumper sticker that says “Tailgating results in a trip to the nearest hospital. Fear not! For I am a certified First Responder”. The roads are crazy nowadays… too many jack rabbits out there. We have to watch out for ourselves, our own safety.

  5. oooo… I can so relate to this post!

    Some time ago I was rear ended by a youg fellow that just was not paying attention. His first reaction was that he was at fault, and sorry. Long story short, he recanted, and had also given the police false info. Finding that he had no insurance (which he lied about over and over again) and that his intention was to just **** me over and bury the incident drove me crazy. How can someone have no remorse? I am not a rich man by any means, and needed to repair my car with my own money.
    I truly wish you the best in this instance, and hope your outcome is better than my own. … I did not have the time or the recource to sue this person

    On a lighter note … Hello from Eric!
    Hope your week improves – venting is GOOD sometimes 🙂

  6. You need to call the police department and find out when his hearing is and show up and tell your side of the story. If he rearended you then he will have to take responsibility. Be sure to let them know that he was talking on the phone at the time of the accident.

    I understand what you are saying about this next generation part of the problem is the parents. While I was working with a youth group, the parents were one of the hardest parts. They continually made excuses for their students and took the student’s “side” (so to speak) even when told their students were starting fights, cussing, not following the rules, etc. There is a whole generation out there teaching their kids that the rules do not apply to them.

  7. MADDENING!!!! I think Terri is right on. The company he works for probably has more to do with this than him. Either way we do need to pray that justice will prevail!

    Geeze, if it’s not one thing it’s another 😯

  8. I called the officer at the scene, and he said he’d be at the court date to stand up for me. My hubbie and I are both plan on being there too. Maddening….great word!
    Terri is right on…it probably is his company.

  9. I know your pain on this one. Two years ago, I was sitting stopped in traffic when suddenly I was rear-ended from behind by an 18-year-old going about 45 mph in a 25 mph zone. It destroyed his car, and did about $4000 in damage to mine.

    Like the kid who hit you, he was very nonchalant and seemed to believe he was completely not at fault. Yet, I was just sitting there in traffic, and I couldn’t have gotten out of his way if I’d tried.

    That kid was also surprised when he was ticketed for the accident. The only thing he could see was that his car was totaled, but that mine had very little visible damage (his front end had gone under my car, so almost all the damage was on the undercarriage). He therefore thought that he shouldn’t get a ticket. LOL

    He was on his parents’ insurance, so I’m sure they ended up getting hit with much higher premiums, given how much the accident ended up costing their insurance. I feel bad for them, actually.

    I hope you are doing well, and that you didn’t get any serious injuries. Be sure to have yourself checked out thoroughly, because some injuries from auto accidents don’t really seem serious at first, when they’re in fact very debilitating in the long term.

    Also, make sure that the cop who ticketed him shows up in traffic court (I think if I were you, I’d show up there too). Cops not showing up is the most common reason for tickets being dismissed.

  10. Seriously! So many people dont have to take responsibility because they have been enabled their whole life and they don’t work for anything but what they want. not everyone.
    I was at the dollar tree and my 2 year old said hey to the worker he was about 16 or 17 and he heard her and said nothing. I said honey he isn’t going to respond to you I am so sorry. I probably shouldn’t have said it but nevertheless. =) Glad you are ok. My sister in law wrecked on sunday! no fun!

  11. I am so glad to hear that my son isn’t the only one who doesn’t get responded to when he says hello to someone. What’s up with people who don’t even respond in a friendly manner to an innocent child??

    Thanks Jenny for stopping by…hope your sisnlaw is okay too.
    elfninosmom…I hope you’re okay after your wreck too. I already called the cop and he’s planning to be there. Yah!

  12. Oh, I can unfortunately relate to your predicament. I had just been released from physical therapy for a car accident where my husband (then-fiance) were rear-ended and not a week later, I was hit head-on three blocks from my house. He had no insurance and offered me $200 cash on the spot (in hindsight, I should have taken it…). All he could say was, “I just bought this car!” and not a word about why he was driving (and speeding) on the left side of the road, or if I was okay (I broke my wrist, among other things), if my car was all right.

    Long story short, his car was totalled, my Volvo had about $3000 in damage, I had about $3000 in damage myself and my adjuster could never reach him. He kept giving her fake names when she called him on his cell phone, even used phony voices. My insurance was great (what a blessing) and so was the kind policeman. Oh, I forgot to mention that he fled as soon as I called the police because there was a warrant out for his arrest!

    This was summer ’06. All of a sudden just last Christmas I got a letter from the state about this incident because they’re going to suspend his license for driving without insurance. I was mad at him for a few months but now I pray for him. What a messed-up life…

    Prayers for you and for this young man that he’ll get his head on straight.

Leave a Reply

