Christianity, encouragement, faith, faithful fridays, love, motivation, Oklahoma, prayer, publishing, relationships, spirituality, surviving, thoughts, women, writing

Faithful Friday 1-4-07

I’m turning something over to God…my manuscript. I have 1/2 a chapter left to go and I’ll be finished. I sent out query letter submissions about a year ago. I got one acceptance letter my first time out of the gate, but it was from a smaller company. It seemed to easy to be true. Something was ‘off’ in my gut, so I turned them down. Since then I’ve discovered from numerous sources that the reputation of that publishing house isn’t the greatest, so I’m glad I chose not to walk through that door. But on the other hand afterwards, I got rejection letter after rejection letter.

To me, even though it was a NO, I was excited each time I opened and read those words that told me my project wasn’t what these different agents or pub houses were looking for. In my mind I was that much closer to a YES!

I took a break after a death in the family. My creative juices just weren’t stirrin, and didn’t want to write because I think I should. I usually only write because I’m called to. However once my book is picked up, I’m sure the deadlines enforced will make me change my tune. When you’re under contract, you write to meet a deadline whether you think you should or not.

Through the last year I’ve heard numerous inquiries… how’s your book? Are you finished? Is it published?

Just recently I’ve been led to finally finish it and start the query letter path again. Some part of me wasn’t ready to finish it, because then it would be over. My characters and their relationships would come to an end. This is a story I’ve carried around in my head all my life. It’s basically my story of survival and the path taken or not taken. This sounds a little cryptic I know, but the story line is short of amazing and I can’t wait to share it with the world in hopes they gain something from it.

In the last 3 weeks, I’ve changed the ending. I had to go back and change a few things through the whole story line, more like finessing, here and there to lead up to the new ending. I’m very happy with how it’s turned out and can’t wait to share it. So all this being said, I’m putting my story … my love of the it’s characters … and getting it published in the hands of the Lord.

Anyone out there have any publishing connections??  🙂

8 thoughts on “Faithful Friday 1-4-07”

  1. So exciting to read this. In Hos hands, obviously, is the best place!

    I’m scared out of my mind with this whole writing process. Query letters, manuscripts, pub houses…I’m no where near that yet and have no idea about any of it. i’m just writing. If I have to go down to Kinkos and copy and bind myself and hand them out, then I will.

    I am so excited for you – I so believe the right publisher will pick you up! I can’t wait to read this!

  2. Congratulations on being almost done with the book! I hope you find publishers soon. My SIL has a book that she wants to publish as well but here we really don’t have many publishers so it’s not an easy task

  3. Hey girl! Love your new header pic! So I’d call you but my voice is thrashed from this weekend! I got a second round cold – yipee!

    Hope you had a great weekend!

  4. I do too. My mom wanted a pic of where she does her daily devotions, with her coffee cup. So I took a few, and what do ya know…they ended up to be perfect for a blog header. 😉

  5. I don’t have any connections but I can’t wait until it is published as you are a most wonderful writer. I can relate to what you said about the publisher with a bad rep as I’m about to pull my art from an agent that I’m afraid has a bad reputation.

Leave a Reply

