children, family, family bonds, fathers, home, life, love, motherhood, photography, pictures, racing, relationships, smiles, son, texas, thoughts

Quick Trip to Texas

My family and I just got back from a weekend visit to his family in Texas. We drove 4 1/2 hours down and spent Saturday and Sunday with the whole fam! My son did extremely well, considering we had a portable DVD player for his movies. He only asked, Are we in Texas yet? about ummm….19 times before we left Oklahoma. Then once we crossed the state line he changed it to: Are we at their house yet? I thought it was funny for the first 10 times, and after that I groaned because I wanted to be there just as bad. My butt and back were numb by the time we got there.

We passed a town, called White Settlement, and I had to look twice. They even had an exit of the highway for White Settlement Road, where the Civil War Museum was located on the frontage road. I couldn’t believe it! We got the history of the town once we got to our family’s home. Apparently it’s not racial at all. The town is named after a Mr. White, but most of the other residents are trying to change the name because they find it racially offensive. I took a picture of the exit sign on the way home to post.

Our visit was so relaxing. We ate pancakes, lounged, and took our time in everything we did. When do we ever have time for the simple things?…only during the holidays!

My son enjoyed his time with his great Grama, Nana, aunts, uncles, and cousin. This HUGE home we were in happens to sit on a pecan plantation in the middle of no where. The pecan plantation would have been a good detail to remember since I brought them hand picked pecans for Christmas. I awoke Saturday morning to the sound of machinery, at the neighbors house, where workers were sucking up all the pecans out of the yard. My uncle walked me into his garage, where he had 7 huge barrel sized sacks of pecans in his garage. He told me that they shelled and sold them himself. I sighed and told him what I brought him for Christmas, which resulted in being teased all weekend. I couldn’t believe my blonde moment. Seems I have a lot of those.

There were deers running wild everywhere. All you had to do was step outside to be greeted by a whole family of deer. Usually we saw them in packs of 12 or more. This shot shows three, but they had about 10 more with them.

If you look closely, you can see all the pecan shells on the ground around them.

We were sad to leave, but had to get home for Christmas to be with my parents and my husband’s. My son started crying, so we told him we’d stop by the Texas Motor Speedway on the way home. He loves racing and Jeff Gordon. At four, he’s a speed finatic, and loves all things cars(thanks to the Cars Movie). My husband drove around the parking and track to find a spot where he could show our little guy a view of the race track. We found one area that gave a little glimpse. My husband told me later that my son said, “Daddy, if anyone’s playing the Nascar Thunder game right now…Can they see us up here?” He’s so cute.

Merry Christmas to you all.

5 thoughts on “Quick Trip to Texas”

  1. Merry Christmas! Sounds like you had a wonderful time! I love your blonde moment! Pecans anyone? HA!

    Hope you’ve had a wonderful day and glad you ahd a safe trip as well!

    Love – Tam

  2. The pecan thing is soooo funny! Didn’t your hubby know about the pecan grove where his uncle lives? Oh well, maybe they have a re-gift room at their house too! Pecans can be frozen, you kn0w.
    Glad you all had such a wonderful Christmas and I’m looking forward to next year with my family too!

Leave a Reply

