angels, appreciation, blessings, care taking, Christianity, church, commitments, economics, encouragement, Endeavour, faith, family, family bonds, financial, gratitude, guardian angel, help, Holidays, home, leadership, life, love, motivation, positive reinforcement, prayer, relationships, society, spirituality, surviving, technical difficulties, thoughts

God blesses us in the most unexpected ways…

Just a few Fridays ago, I posted in a Faithful Friday edition on how blessed we still are even in the midst of financial strain. I wasn’t trying to tout my own horn in how I gave to someone else, when I really needed help myself. I felt led to share my story b/c I thought it may make someone out there, reading this, stop & think. I thought it may make someone get that no matter how hard we feel our life is, someone else always has it harder and to focus on how truly blessed we really are.

My husband & I are not the type to take hand outs. Even when we’ve been tight before…we’ve never taken something for free or accepted help because of our pride. We want to make it on our own. However lately I think we’ve been so stressed that our pride is slowly crumbling…and the kindness of others has been completely humbling.

Since I wrote that last post I’ve cried a lot at the most random acts of kindness toward me and my family. I’ve been so amazed at the giving spirit of those around me…family, friends, and total strangers. Maybe God blessed their hearts toward us due to the act of kindness I showed to that sad lady in my previous post, mentioned above. What ever the reason, I’m completely humbled.

Last night after my Church group, the lady I help teach with at the 4 and 5 year old group stopped us and gave my son a Christmas gift. It wasn’t just a little truck or a coloring book…but a very nice rug with a city on it to drive his cars around on along with some hot wheels. She blew me away with her gift and it made me cry.

Last weekend, I had a plumber scheduled to come fix our toilet. He had to replace all the hardware and reattach the tank to the base due to the leaking tank and rusted nuts and bolts. It was going to cost a lot more than we could afford. When I pulled out my check book, he told me not to worry about paying him. He told me that this service call was on him and to have a Merry Christmas. Maybe he noticed that our tree was bare with no presents below, or maybe he just felt like giving in the true spirit of the season. I know God was knocking on his heart for our benefit. My eyes are tearing up now just thinking about it. Here this stranger offering us such a treasured gift during a rough patch in our lives. I cried at the sound of his words, and he told me not to cry but to enjoy the new toilet and my family. I’m sure he didn’t know how to react to my tears. I’m sure he saw all the Christian things around our home, because when we asked how we could repay him he said, “Just refer me ma’am. And pray for me…I’m not a religious man but if you could pray for me — I would appreciate it.” My husband and I are truly blessed and God blesses us in some of the most unexpected ways.

Thank you Lord for your angels in this world…whether they’re knowledgeable of your ways or not.

6 thoughts on “God blesses us in the most unexpected ways…”

  1. Just before I read where you wrote that you were crying just thinking about it I had started crying with you. Girl, it is returning to you! You remember how blessed you felt to give to that person awhile back? So you must know the blessing these others feel by blessing you. We are more like Christ Himself when we give to others, when we are servants. What a beautiful testimony to that. I am blessed by this and so encouraged…

    Thank you for sharing this.

    Much love to you and yours!
    Tam

  2. Luke 6:38 NLT

    Give and you will receive. Your gift will return to you in full? Pressed down, shaken together to make room for more, running over, and poured into your lap. The amount you give will determine the amount you get back.

    His word never returns void!

  3. I was crying too. So many times in the past I had given to people. Then there were a few years that I had to learn to graciously recieve. Now I am at a place of giving again….sow during the season of sowing and reap during the season of reaping.

  4. Thank you for sharing your life blessings that was bestowed upon you. I need to hear more because I am at a rough time financially and spiritually. I need to be encouraged and please pray for me. Especially about me not being laid off.

Leave a Reply

