faithful fridays, Uncategorized

Faithful Friday 11-30-07

Since having to go on a strict diet of a budget, we’ve come up with some really creative ways to save money. All which are good, and I haven’t missed much of the conveniences that I’ve given up. Although I’m still craving my Starbucks Frappuccino’s every morning.Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at PhotobucketPhoto Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

My mouth is watering right now just thinking of it !! I miss my morning splurge. I’d rotate between these two flavors…mocha or vanilla. I may throw a carmel in once in a while.

(Note to self: *Ask for Starbucks Gift Certificates for Christmas.)

I can do without the pike pass, which allows convenient travel to all things in the metro. It’s fast and easy…but costly. So now I only take it if there’s no other way to my destination.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at PhotobucketI miss my PureOlogy…it’s great for the environment and for my hair, but I can’t afford it right now. So I’ve down graded to Pantene, which I also like a lot…but I’m not as much as a fan since I’m not sure what’s really in their shampoo. With PureOlogy, I can be sure that what I put on my hair won’t make me sick or harm the earth.

Okay these are all things I’ve given up in response to a budget…but the one thing I’m just really really missing is my Charmin or my Cottenelle. This is a necessity that really sucks not to have a quality brand…I miss my soft 2 ply paper. Even with this situation I am completely spoiled!!!

And even with all I miss…I know how much I have. Especially after a meeting I had this week:

Wednesday, I had an appointment with a National Charitable Originaztion, and was completely humbled. Knowing how spoiled I am…even in the dire straights I feel I’m in right now…nothing compares to those children who go to bed hungry in our country and abroad every night!!

How blessed are we that wake up every day to opportunity and endless choices? For some, in this world, have no choice to better their circumstances or situation.

When I was leaving this appointment, I saw an obvious down and out woman in the waiting room. She had a black eye and was wearing old sweats. I gave her eye contact, smiled, and left for my car.

In my car, I sat and prayed…”God if you want me to do something for her…let me know. I only have 13 dollars on me and need to buy gas and groceries with that money. I have nothing to give Lord.”…”I need this cash just as bad God”…is what my heart said. BUT who am I to question God? I took 7 of the 13 dollars out of my purse and walked back into the lobby.

This sad eyed woman, had the yellow pages out, and was asking whomever was on the other end of the phone, “Do you give financial help??…Yes I’ll hold.” She wasn’t out pan handeling on the street corner, conning others out of cash. She was in a reputable organization’s building simply asking for help.

I walked up and told her that God wanted me to give this [cash] to her, and it wasn’t much but it was hers. Tears flowed down her cheeks. She grabbed my hands, and thanked me. I didn’t know how to respond. I just smiled and said, “God bless you.”

That money wasn’t from me. It wasn’t mine to give. Every thing I have has been given to me from God, and therefore it was straight from Him. I should have spoken those words to her…but I didn’t. I am not good with words most days…and this was one of them. I simply hope my actions spoke louder than what my mouth could have. I pray she knows that God loves and cares about her.

This Faithful Friday, I know how blessed I am to be in the exact situation I’m in. Even with being stretched too thin…in a defecit, and needing more income…..

I know I have a loving family … a place to call home … heat to keep me warm … a job … and most importantly the peace of knowing that God will take care of me no matter what.

5 thoughts on “Faithful Friday 11-30-07”

  1. What an awesome, inspiring story–thank you for sharing!!

    I’m also trying to cut back on the spending. I have a few downfalls but am definitely approaching things differently. It is just ‘stuff’. This week we’ve been attacking the groceries–planned the menu for week and stuck with it! (and only bought those groceries!)…keep going!!

  2. What a wonderful story! I just discovered you today while wandering around in the bloggity world. Don’t usually do that, but my girls are at a birthday party and it is rather quiet around here. I had a similar experience when we felt God leading us to adopt our second daughter . . . . no money and no potential for any coming in the near future! It was all we could do to keep up with the bills, pay the mortgage, and take care of the little one we had already adopted. But, through God’s grace, we brought Annie home and we have never doubted God’s leading. Bless you for listening to the voice of our Father. Nina

  3. I just recently came to terms with our current financial debacle. I may not like the circumstance – but i have Joy in it. It really doesn’t matter how bad it gets – nothing here will ever change the outcome of my eternity or my significance in Christ. That really hit me hard this last week. I know it’s simple thinking – but it enveloped me wholly and my perspective and attitude changed. He has humbled me by His graciousness.

    This was a very inspiring story – I’m glad you shared it. It has furthered challenged this growth spurt I’m in…Thank you!

  4. Wonderful story! I love how you sat in your car and asked God what to do. That’s amazing. That’s what I want to learn to do more of – to really start communicating with God each and every moment. Really asking Him what to do, and then to follow His advice, each and every day.

Leave a Reply

