appreciation, blessings, blogging, Christianity, counseling, faith, faithful fridays, meme, positive reinforcement, spirituality

Faithful Fridays 7-27-07 part 2

Part 2?  Okay so last week’s edition had this week’s date on it.  Was I a week ahead or what?  As my boss would say….Always moving forward.  That’s his favorite motivational phrase.

As I take a deeper look into that, something hits me.  Are you one of those who are always looking to the future?  Looking to see what comes next instead of what’s happening now?  Yes, my boss’ phrase is a great sales tool to add to his emails to motivate his team to keep pluggin at it, but it also reminds me of how I used to live.

I used to always reflect on the past, wondering what if.  Then I’d strive to see what the future may hold, thinking it had to be better than what life had given me.  I didn’t look at where I was right now in the present, in my daily life.  It took a good family friend, also my counselor at the time, to point this out.  She told me I would never truly be at peace if I didn’t let go of who I ‘was’ or who I thought I wanted to be ‘someday’.  Walking a daily life became very important to me at that point in life, and when I started mastering this…I realized that God had me exactly where he wanted me….today!

Do I still stress about things…yes!  But the difference is I’m learning daily to let them go, and focus on the steps the Lord wants me to take today.  For example, I know today holds great things for me and my family and that’s so exciting to me.  I also know I don’t need to keep looking to my future because He already holds that for me.  He has it waiting and it makes my daily life so much sweeter.

***Lord please bless whoever reads this, that they may let go of what was and have peace for what YOU have for them today.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “Faithful Fridays 7-27-07 part 2”

  1. Amen… am sure Glad we are to ask for our “daily” bread and by His Strength carry our cross “daily”… taking in a week’s worth of bread would tax our systems and carrying a week’s worth of crosses would make us collapse under the pressure… either way it equals “no fun” :(.

    …may we all strive to rely on Him daily so we can experience Psalm 118:24.

    Blessings In Christ Sis

  2. I was going to ask you about the date on last week’s post but forgot. Hope you had a great day today! Thanks for reminding me about the post. I like your point about enjoying the ‘now’ & not worrying about or coveting after the future.

Leave a Reply

