challenge, children, Christianity, commitments, corporate, entertainment, family, fatherhood, media, motherhood, motivation, politics, relationships, sex, society, son, television, thoughts

Fighting back against trashy TV

I don’t know about you, but I am extremely concerned with the lack of sensitivity that the networks show in their programming. Every year it gets worse and worse…a little more skin here….another offensive word there. What impressions must this make on our kids?!

Now granted, as a mom, it’s my job not to expose my child to any programming that’s not suitable. And even the kid’s programming now a days is questionable. Some of the commercials on station breaks are unsettling! And I promise you, there will be a day when my son gets old enough to stay at friend’s houses, where the parent or parents may not be as discriminating with their children when it comes to television. I will do my best to screen where my son hangs out, but I can’t be everywhere all the time. He won’t live in a bubble, and will one day see and hear things I can’t control.

So now I just have to figure out what I can control in a world where television is desensitizing us to things that should NOT BE OKAY! Things that would have been unheard of even 5 years ago, are blatantly splashed all over the screen. Is there anything any of us concerned parents can do? Well if you are the type to get involved, YES there is!

There are a couple of websites that you can research:

http://www.onemillionmoms.com/

http://www.onemilliondads.com

This organization targets advertisers and large corporations and have been very successful in getting major companies, like General Mills, Arby’s, and T-mobile, to pull their ads during the shows that are most offensive. They’ve also been able to get certain scenes edited out.

If you’re able to, please check those two different sites out: Onemillionmoms or Onemilliondads.

What legacy will you leave for your kids? Please fight back against trashy TV!

4 thoughts on “Fighting back against trashy TV”

  1. Where I used to live had satellite TV so even though we were in Pacific time a lot of shows ran on East Coast time which meant a three hour difference. Because of this difference ‘dirty’ commercials popped up while my child was still up. The TV program I was watching was fine but these ads were not. That was my biggest pet peeve. Now we have cable again and things are back to normal. I usually save my TV watching for his nap/bedtime if I’m concerned. Plus with many shows available online you skip most commercials & none of them are half naked women.

  2. My 5 year old keeps saying stuff I know I never said. He was racing by his sister on his bike and yelled out “Later Bra” He gets a lot of this stuff from the cartoon network, and Disney channels. It’s funny but he sometimes gets in trouble at school for saying off the wall stuff.

Leave a Reply

