blogging, business, care taking, celebrities, conflict, corporate, exercise, FireFox, food, football, help, humor, manners, media, miracles, nostalgia, Okinawa, prayer, pride, recycle, sex, smoking, surviving, tornado, Uncategorized, Washington, weather, women, work out, writing

Seasons of Life

As I sit here, on my lunch break, listening to the thunder rolling in I am reminded that our stormy spring isn’t going anywhere anytime soon. (sigh) The luxuries of running for cover when a tornado alarm goes off! Hopefully that won’t be the case today. The hard rain pelting on my window offers as a reminder of the trials or seasons in our own lives.

We all will face our human seasons just like the seasons of mother earth. The earth has growing pains every year with the birth of spring, in all it’s splendor of color and terrors of storms. I just pray today is filled with hard spring rains, and the severity of the storms stay at bay.

My prayers for my seasons are no different. In life we all go through growing pains! From birth to death, we all experience life in this world, which will hold many surprises and tragedies along the way. There is after all a time for everything…it says so Ecclesiastes 3:1-15. So, every day I pray that the severities of life stay at bay, but undoubtably bad things do happen that are out of our control.

Once Eve took a bite out of that forbidden fruit, sin entered in to what was a perfectly peaceful existence. God gives man free will, who can choose his own path. Unfortunately, some will not follow God in His footsteps. They will turn a deaf ear to His message, and refuse to ask Him into their hearts, therefore bad decisions will be made which will ripple effect into all our lives.

For example, the drunk that can’t let go of his booze…not even long enough to see that he’s had way too many before getting behind his wheel. His bad decisions put other lives in danger, that could effect you or me. We can’t control that.

All I can do is put my life, and those I love, in God’s hands every day and pray for traveling mercies and protection from anything that would do harm…including spiritual warfare. Now there’s a subject that is taboo among many of you, so I will leave that for another blog.

Seasons of life are a beautiful thing really, through all the good and the bad. The past is what makes us what we are today. We are all human and subject to sin, but as long as we put Christ first in our life we hopefully will make the right choices for ourselves and those in our lives. You ever hear of you reap what you sow? Trust me I’ve sowed enough bad in my life to understand just what that means–poor decisions = poor results. Now I strive to reap from the good soil I’ve been planting my spiritual fruit in. Every day I have a choice to make, and I choose to live the kind of life God would want me to. Like most of us, I fall short every day…so each new morning is a new chance to continue on my path.

Our seasons are inevitable.  We can embrace them or live in ignorance of them…in denial of our stages in life. I have just recently come to the realization that I’m not a young 20 something anymore!  I feel 24 and hope I always do, but I’m definitely 34 going on 35.  YIKES!  My time is clicking away every day so I’ve come the realization that I must respect every day God gives me.. to live life to it’s fullest but also to it’s spiritual richness.

My seasons have carried me from a child to a rebellious teen and young woman, living in a world of sin. They’ve evolved me into a mature responsible woman in her 30’s that has found herself, gotten married, and given birth to the most amazing gift God could offer.  My seasons are full of mistakes and glorious triumphs!  I now know it’s okay to get older.  I’m right where God wants me to be…in this season of awareness.  It’s my season and I owe it to Him to shine my light so that others may see.

8 thoughts on “Seasons of Life”

  1. Since seasons seem to be on our minds lately, I thought I’d offer up the lyrics to “Every Season” by Nicole Nordeman. Have you heard it?

    Every evening sky, an invitation
    To trace the patterned stars
    And early in July, a celebration
    For freedom that is ours
    And I notice You
    In children’s games
    In those who watch them from the shade
    Every drop of sun is full of fun and wonder
    You are summer

    And even when the trees have just surrendered
    To the harvest time
    Forfeiting their leaves in late September
    And sending us inside
    Still I notice You when change begins
    And I am braced for colder winds
    I will offer thanks for what has been and was to come
    You are autumn

    And everything in time and under heaven
    Finally falls asleep
    Wrapped in blankets white, all creation
    Shivers underneath
    And still I notice you
    When branches crack
    And in my breath on frosted glass
    Even now in death, You open doors for life to enter
    You are winter

    And everything that’s new has bravely surfaced
    Teaching us to breathe
    What was frozen through is newly purposed
    Turning all things green
    So it is with You
    And how You make me new
    With every season’s change
    And so it will be
    As You are re-creating me
    Summer, autumn, winter, spring

  2. Well-written~!

    Your thoughts struck a responsive chord this morning – and I’m fifteen years ahead of you! The road looks pretty good from here though, with a perspective very much like yours.

    Thanks for putting your thoughts where we can share ’em!!

    Phil—

  3. Grits n Grace…love that poem. I havent’ heard of it before.
    Phil, am glad I have a mentor in you!
    Totaltransformation…I know exactly what you mean. I cringe when I hear it start up.

  4. Seasons…ahhh, yes. I’ve been struggling and rejoicing figuring out what season I’m in right now. I think, like your weather seasons (and western NY’s also), I am in the “in-between”.

  5. Just stopping in to tell you how your words touched my heart in just the right way today, almost like you were speaking to me directly. I found a link to your blog under my own post (thank you, God!), Cup of Despair, which just goes to show you how God brings us what we need, when we need it. So, thank you very much for reminding me of one’s seasons in life (Ecclesiastes is one of my favorites from the Good Book). The way you weave the seasons of life with unpredictable, tumultuous springtime weather makes it so poignantly personal; our emotions can be just as unpredictable and turbulent as the violent storms we face each Spring. So, I guess with that in mind, your poem means a lot to me Today as I’ve been facing my own Spring storms of late, and your post reminds me to reach for temperance and use a little more healthy “detachment” while I walk in mental chains and dodge mind shadows. Thank you for writing such a beautiful piece which really puts it into perspective for this temporary (God willing!) sorry soul. Many blessings to you (and to your readers, as well..:)

Leave a Reply

