commitments, conflict, encouragement, exercise, family, health, humor, ice storm, leadership, life, love, management, medical, motherhood, motivation, positive reinforcement, prayer, smoking, sports, surviving, thoughts, wieght, women, work out

committing to myself

workoutI am not a huge fan of the gym. I haven’t been a faithful attendee in many many years. I started yoga about 6 months ago due to my conscience nagging me to do ‘something’ to keep in shape.

Let me clarify that I am one of those sickening people, who have a high metabolism and don’t really have to work out to stay at a target wieght. Most women hate women like me. I was a swim suit model about 18 years ago, but that body is no longer to be found. I won’t even wear shorts anymore. I’m not fat but I’m not firm! Being in my mid 30’s, I know that I need to start some sort of regimen for my future health. I know according to studies that it will help with osteoperosis, heart disease, and overall mental wellness. Not only that, but I need to set a good example for my son.

My husband has started a new work out routine this year too, so he’s been very motivating to watch. If he can stick with it — I know I can. He’s the kind that is all or nothing….kind of like a pendulum, swinging back and forth. It’s almost like he falls off the wagon of whatever kick he’s trying to achieve. He’s been going through one diet or exersize program or another the whole time I’ve known him, and he’s never stuck to it, however this time we made a contract.

He has to lose a certain number by November 24th, and then he’s allowing himself to eat what he wants on Thanksgiving. After Thanksgiving he has to maintain that number throughout the rest of the year. If he dips below this number, he has a week to reach his target number. If he fails to have a consistant workout and maintain his wieght, than there is a penalty.

My husband started a Christmas fund at work. So at the end of the year, if he doesn’t break his contract…he gets the entire sum to use as he pleases, which will most likely be a plasma TV. If he breaks his contract, then I get the money and I will pay off bills. I really want him to succeed and I know he will. He’s driven! This contract has changed his life.

I think it’s all about focus. Like my husband, most people get their desired wieght or result and then slack off. They think, “Whew! I made it…now lets celebrate with some chocolate ice cream!” Then they jump off the deep end for some more…they fall off the wagon. I would love to challenge those, on the teeter totter of dieting, to give themselves a reward that only pays out after 12 months!! This will keep YOU motivated to continue your healthy living and eating habits to sustain your desired target wieght.

Today was my first day back to the gym in months. When the ice storms hit Oklahoma, I used that as my excuse not to go to my yoga class. Then I injured myself and had to stay off my foot for about 6 weeks. I had no control over my injury. BUT I’m all better now and I’m noticing fat pockets depositing themselves above my knees. I have a muffin top around my waist from having my kiddo. These are things I hate about my body. I am 5’7 and 138, which isn’t bad but I’m soft and I don’t like it.

This is my commitment today….

I will lose 5 pounds.
I will tone and firm those areas that have been neglected for years.
I will get rid of the cottage cheese that is starting to get a little out of control!!!
Just because I’m a mommy—I refuse to let myself go!!!

I want to be healthy minded, and have a healthy body. Our bodies are our temples! I know I’ve been neglecting mine and today is my first step to committing to me! Now I just have to have the resolve to follow through. My gym is starting a ZUMBA class which encorporates Latin dance, and I can’t wait to take those classes. The dancer in me is itching to dive into it. I would love to have this body…body type I will keep you updated!!!

To see what else I did please link to

1 thought on “committing to myself”

  1. You are so right about getting into a routine. I am working on that myself and doing…well…so, so. It helps that the weather will soon be getting nicer (hopefully) then can add some variety to working out! Get that routine going!!

Leave a Reply

