commitments, conflict, faith, family, family bonds, humor, leadership, life, management, media, military, motherhood, politics, society, thoughts

peace vs. protection

As a loving human being, I would love total world peace. However, I am not one of those pagaent spoofs, that you see in the movies, that declare their stance with a southern twang of their desire for world peace. It’s a great concept in a perfect world, but we don’t live in a perfect world.

As a mother I understand what it means to protect what you love. If someone even thinks about trying to harm my family, I will strike and STRIKE HARD! Those that threaten my peaceful family unit wouldn’t ever know what hit ’em.

As a Christian, I want to give fellow humans the benefit of the doubt through God’s love, but I’m not clueless to the ways of the world and how warped most in it are.

This being said, I stand up for my country and have to take a stand for our military. Maybe coming from a military family gave me a diferent view to my world, but I know the sacrifices being made every day for me and my rights. The war and military protesters in our country have a right to their opinions, but they’re so far gone over the edge it seems that they can’t see their own rights ending at the end of their noses. It is not their right to bash our military. It is their right to object to it. It is not their right to try to defile monuments in Washington D.C as a symbol of protest! It is their right to march right by it yelling their crazy antics.

I just want one protester…..just once….to acknowledge all that this country, and the military, have done for them. If it weren’t for those honorable military men and women, who have served for generations before they were born, they wouldn’t be marching and yelling their protests today. They wouldn’t have their freedom of speach!

Am I a fan of war? NO! Do I think it’s time to bring our military home? YES! But do I believe in protecting what I love? ABSOLUTELY YES! Would I take drastic measures to do so? You bet I would.

I think 9/11 in my mind, made it necessary for us to strike back in protection of our country. Has the war gone on long enough? Yes, but am I an expert of the intimate dealings of the politics, in Iraq or the inner offices of Washington, to know what threats still lie? NO, I am not. Therefore, I can’t make that call…only the office of the President can.

I think this email I received, shown below, sums up how a lot of us feel.
*************************************************************************

Many of us will encounter “Peace Activists” who will try and
convince us that we must refrain from retaliating against the ones
who terrorized us all on September 11, 2001.

These activists may be alone or in a gathering…..most of us
don’t know how to react to them. When you come upon one of these
people, or one of their rallies, here are the proper rules of
etiquette:

1. Listen politely while this person explains their views. Strike
up a conversation if necessary and look very interested in their
ideas. They will tell you how revenge is immoral, and that by
attacking the people who did this to us, we will only bring on
more violence. They will probably use many arguments, ranging from
political to religious to humanitarian.

2. In the middle of their remarks, without any warning, punch them
in the nose.

3. When the person gets up off of the ground, they will be very
angry and they may try to hit you, so be careful.

4. Very quickly and calmly remind the person that violence only
brings about more violence and remind them of their stand on this
matter. Tell them if they are really committed to a nonviolent
approach to undeserved attacks, they will turn the other cheek and
negotiate a solution. Tell them they must lead by example if they
really believe what they are saying.

5. Most of them will think for a moment and then agree that you are
correct.

6. As soon as they do that, hit them again. Only this time hit
them much harder. Square in the nose.

7. Repeat steps 2-5 until the desired results are obtained and the
idiot realizes how stupid an argument he/she is making.

8. There is no difference in an individual attacking an
unsuspecting victim or a group of terrorists attacking a nation of
people. It is unacceptable and must be dealt with.

We either strike back, VERY HARD, or we will keep getting hit in
the nose.
****************************************************************************

Granted this email is just a joke…so don’t take this literally anyone! It’s just a little humor for you to entertain some thoughts on the military and how they’ve fought all these years to give you what you have today—your freedom!

3 thoughts on “peace vs. protection”

Leave a Reply

