business, commitments, encouragement, life, literary, management, nostalgia, publishing, random, surviving, taxes, thoughts, women, writing

Manuscript in hand and ready to go?

For those of you who know me, you know I’ve been working on my manuscript for a year. I had most of it all done in 5 months with only a few chapters to go. It’s 51 chapters long. Okay….sounds long, but it’s a quick and interesting read.

For those of you who don’t know me, see the paragraph above :)!

This past year I have been slacking off in getting my query letters out to agencies and pub houses. After my husband’s grandma died, I took a break due to lack of creativity. PLUS I felt my query letter didn’t have a good enough ‘hook’ to get me noticed. Most letters don’t even get read anyway…they get filed in the all purpose trash can.

This month is my commitment month!

FIRST to get my taxes done and submitted, and then to finish my last chapter and work on getting it published. How many of you are on this path? This book has been in my head and in my heart for over 15 years, and is a beautiful story of survival. Most women that I’ve let read some chapters, for market research, haven’t been able to put it down and have asked for more. Even one year later, I have a few people that have called to ask when I can get a couple more chapters to them. A few of these callers have given me what I’ve needed to get back on the horse….taxes and manuscript…..taxes and manuscript.

Now it’s on to more rejection letters, which doesn’t bother me at all. In fact, the more rejection letters I get…the more excited I become. Those ‘no’ letters are that much closer to a YES! Whenever that may happen, only God knows.

Does anyone ever recommend print on demand or self publishing?

2 thoughts on “Manuscript in hand and ready to go?”

  1. I’m totally with you, but far, far behind you. My book is still in thought form, but one day…

    I wish I knew any advice to help, but instead, let me offer a good luck. Maybe you can share some advice with all of us later – hang in there.

    I got my taxes started last night. A baby step in the right directions.
    Here’s to us!

Leave a Reply

