allergies, appreciation, blessings, care taking, children, death, disasterous, encouragement, faith, family, family bonds, food, health, life, miracles, motherhood, motivation, prayer, random, relationships, surviving, thoughts, wieght, women

Adult on-set allergy awareness

I just wanted to reach out to all of you out there. A lot of us have had to deal with our children’s food allergies, with the hope that they out grow it by age 3. Most of them do, thankfully. My 3 year old finally got past his severe egg allergy. He had his first easter egg hunt this last easter. Next month will be his first birthday with a real cake from a bakery, vs. me baking an egg free one–that by the way isn’t always that tasty!

Let me take a second to make you aware of those of us adults can grow into them. Adult onset allergies is more and more common than rare. Six and a half years, my husband grew into his. He almost died a few times before we figured it out. We were completely caught off guard. Although there were warning signs, we were ignorant to them or what the potential danger they held.

He started off with large welts covering his body, that we thought was just a rash. I used Calamine lotion on his entire body…even behind his ears. This rash or severe welts would sporadically show up over a period of months, and didn’t seem to have anything that we could pin point to be the cause. As time went on, these bumps got smaller and smaller. We thought this was good…..they were getting smaller — so they were going away right? NO! The smaller outward appearance meant it was targeting the insides of my husband’s body.

One night we were out on the town, eating and drinking at an arts festival. My better half starting acting irrational and irritable. We were newlyweds so I figured I was seeing a new side to him, that I wasn’t aware of. By the time it took us to drive a few minutes from the event, he asked me to finish the drive home. He was too dizzy to continue.

As we switched places, I casually belted myself in to drive and looked at my dear sweet man. I was in for a huge shock. In just seconds, his neck had swollen out past his clavicle. His eyes were sunken in from the swelling in his face, and he wasn’t responding. Hysterical, I took off as fast as I could.

Thank the LORD, I was across the street from a hospital. I drove into oncoming traffic, ran around people at stop signs, into more oncoming traffic, and started beating his chest with my free hand. I kept beating my fist on his chest, screaming for God to help me. The children we never had flashed before our eyes as did the golden years we hadn’t reached. My husband was dying next to me and I had no control.

The ER wasn’t clearly marked, so I drove around the darn hospital a time too many before I found the entrance. Pulling in, I continued my honking and yelled for help. Thankfully, there were a few workers out smoking, who took off to our rescue.

They wouldn’t let me back to see him after I parked. Apparently they were having trouble tubing and bagging him, due to the complete swelling of his airway. God provided so many miracles that night by getting us there in one piece. I had to rely on Him one more time. I prayed hysterically that my hubbie would make it. I had no clue what was wrong.

After about 45 mintues, a nurse came out and told me that he was going to make it. She said if I’d gotten him there even 30 seconds later, than he wouldn’t have survived.

After his release a couple days later and a follow up doctor’s appointment, he was diagnosed with food allergies. Apparently it can happen to anyone and is more common in today’s society.

I feel it is important to make you all aware….

If you feel itchy or strange at all after eating, take note of it. If you’re dizzy or have skin reactions, catalog what you ate. GET to an allergest and get tested!

This was the most bizarre experience I’ve ever had, and if God hadn’t provided so many miracles that night…..I wouldn’t be happily married to my guy today. Please take note of this and be aware of the dangers of certain foods and how they affect you.

12 thoughts on “Adult on-set allergy awareness”

  1. Thanks for the warning… How wonderful that you got him to the hospital so quickly!

    I have a very strange reaction to strawberries. My skin turns red and I feel very dizzy after I eat them… but only with strawberries. Wierd.

  2. Done…count me in.
    He’s allergic to all kinds of things, but the main culprits are wheat, yeast, and some other random things that we’re still figuring out.

  3. Thanks for sharing your story!! Wow…how scary that must have been for you and him!! My husband has been having reactions to eggs lately as well. The last few times he has had them…within about 10 minutes he is in the restroom getting sick. He has only done this about 3 times and didn’t really realize it was the eggs…until this last time. We bought some sandwiches…mine was an egg salad sandwich and his was a chicken. He didn’t like his, I told him he can have the other half of mine and he ate it not realizing what it was…within 10 minutes, his throat started to tighten (for the first time) and he once again got sick…I felt so bad. We didn’t really know the severity of it until his throat tighted. We have called the Dr. to get him tested.
    I always have Benadryl (an anithistime) in my household for allergies.

  4. Oh my gosh Cindy. get him tested and get an epi-pen. The more he introduces what ever his body is rejecting, the more severe reaction he’ll have. I feel for you and know what you’re going through. My son was allergic to egg – and thankfully for us he outgrew it. There is a lot out there you can do to create good recipes without eggs. There are a lot of recipes online at allergy websites. Just start digging and researching. BUT please go to an allergest and get him tested to know his severity level, and get the right meds to have on hand, like an epi-pen. 🙂 Good luck.

  5. Please excuse the length of this post, but I’m in a real quandary here.

    Does anyone know WHY adults suddenly develop allergies? Within the past 16 months, I’ve had more than enough allergic reactions – twice ending up in the ER.

    I’d had a scratch-test done about 18 months ago, showing I was allergic to mold, dust, and purebred cats. Go figger. At that same time period, I had my first ever flu shot. Two months later, I had to have a CT can w/contrast, which meant an iodine injection. I knew that I was mildly allergic to iodine, so they had me do a pre-injection, 13-hour campaign of 150mg of prednisone (50mg every 6 hours beginning 13 hours before the procedure), followed by 10-days of prednisone after the scan. Ten days after THAT, I broke out in a rash from head to toe that was attributed to the iodine that I’d had *3 weeks* earlier!

    Last May, I had an emergency gall bladder removal. I was given vicoden (sp?) for pain. Since I hadn’t slept well the first night I was home even after taking a vicoden, I decided the second night to take two of them – not for pain, but just to help me sleep. (The prescription said “1-2 tables every 4-6 hours, as needed”). I awoke 4 hours later clawing at my palms. To cut to the chase, I ended up in the ER at around 3am with an anaphylactic reaction to the vicoden.

    Six weeks later I had taken a Tylenol w/codeine to help ease the pain of a pulled muscle sustained while pulling a suitcase and carrying a computer bag through the airport at St. Louis while on a business trip. An hour after taking it, I was in an ambulance on my way to the ER – again with an anaphylactic reaction to the Tylenol w/codeine.

    Now I’m noticing more and more signals to allergic reactions: bleu cheese, shrimp, lobster, and – tonight – marlin steak have all resulted in welts inside my mouth, tingly lips, and itchiness in random spots all over my body. This even after taking a double-dose of an antihistamine.

    My big question is this: could the flu vaccine have triggered this sudden onset of allergies? I knew I was allergic to sulfa and penicillin, but within a year I added iodine, vicoden, and Tylenol w/codeine. (For the record, I called the allergist who had done the scratch test and asked about the Tylenol w/codeine. He said it was probably the codeine that triggered my reaction, but I’ve read that if you’re allergic to Tylenol, you shouldn’t take vicoden. Wouldn’t the converse be true, too? At any rate, I’m avoiding Tylenol.) And now it seems that ocean foods are more actively involved.

    Any advice?? I truly love shrimp and it just kills me that I can’t have it (and yes, I do have an EpiPen). Anyone ever hear of allergies being reversed?

    Thanks for any words of wisdom you can offer.

Leave a Reply

