faith, health, love, motherhood

health matters

I’ve been very blessed with a very healthy child. Although he used to have severe food allergies, that landed an ambulance at our house a time or two, he has a very strong immune system. In his three years, I can count on one hand how many times we’ve had any major health issues. Lucky for him, he comes from good stock. Not that I’m comparing my family to cattle, but my side of the family just isn’t prone to the flu or anything more than a little congestion or hayfever. Don’t get me wrong, cancer is rampant in my family on both sides…but they only affected the older members when they were past the age of 85.

Today however, I woke up with the sounds of my son screaming for me to come to his room and then puking. I’ve not dealt with him in this state yet. How crazy is that? He’s going to be 4 and he’s yet to be hit with any big projectile issues. Needless to say, I instantly called my mom to make sure I remembered the drill on how to take care of him…but I forgot she was on a cruise for 2 weeks with my dad. Crappy timing, but I handled it just fine. Being a caretaker runs in my blood and by noon, he was ready for a chocolate and a pound of salami. It was like pulling teeth to get him to settle on bland white foods like saltines, apple sauce, tapioca pudding, and jello, but he’s a good kid. He tried a few times to get his way, but quickly realized it wasn’t going to happen.

He and I haven’t had a full night’s sleep in 2 weeks. We both are prone to wake up at the drop of a hat, and have trouble getting back to a full R.E.M. So I pray tonight we all get a peaceful sleep.

Thank the Lord, my son bounces back quickly!

Leave a Reply

